Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers – Jesse Q. Sutanto

Title: Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers

Author: Jesse Q. Sutanto

Genre: Mystery

Plot: Vera Wong runs a tea shop in Chinatown in San Francisco. She’s your stereotypical Asian mom, taking care of her son and keeping her shop in tip-top shape. One day, everything changes when Vera finds a dead man in her shop. She tries her best to make the shop look nice for the police. But when Vera’s unsatisfied with what the police do, she takes matters into her own hands. Then, some people who knew about body show up. Vera thinks one of them killed the man. She’s determined to figure out who murdered the man in her shop all by herself. Can Vera solve the mystery? Or was it all truly an accident?

Rating: 4.0 – a different style of murder mystery

Opinion: This was an entertaining book. I enjoyed the more lightheartedness of this genre of book. I’ve gotten used to the more serious style of murder mysteries. This was a nice change of pace. I also liked that it followed someone who had no business solving a murder. It made for some very entertaining moments in the book. I’m glad that with everything going on in the book, the characters still made smart decisions. I’m glad they made the right decisions in the end, too. There were many times I kept wanting to read the book but it was too late. I really enjoyed this book, much more than I thought I would. I highly recommend this book for anyone who likes a lighter take on murder mysteries.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started