House – Ted Dekker and Frank Peretti

Title: House

Authors: Ted Dekker, Frank Peretti

Genre: Thriller

Plot: Jack and Stephanie are on their way to couple’s therapy when a road block makes them find a new way. The officer gives them another route. On the new route, their tires get shredded. They walk to a small B&B nearby. There’s already another couple there, Leslie and Randy , but no hosts. A host shows up, but something’s off. No one can place their finger on it, but something’s not right. Their host sends them all into a panic when she raves about a man who shouldn’t be there. Then a tin can falls down the fireplace. There are three rules to survive the night. One of them must die so the others can survive. The two couples slowly go mad in the basement trying to decide on their moral dilemma. Who will survive the night? Or will their captors destroy them all?

Rating: 4.0 – a twisted tale of a moral dilemma

Opinion: This was a dark tale about morality. I was kind of scared to read how fast everything descended into madness. The idea of the house being alive as well added another layer of craziness. I was creeped out but wanted to know who would make it out alive. This was one of the few times I was glad I didn’t relate to the characters. Lots of the choices they made, made me fear for my own sanity. There were lots of twists and turns that kept me reading until the end. This is a book you need to be in a ‘I wanna be creeped out’ kind of mindset. So if you’re ready for a dark and creepy book, then I’d recommend this book.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started